With a long history of cultivating the growth of the arts in Cooperstown, The Smithy offers compelling exhibitions in our historic gallery, and quality educational opportunities in the Clay Studio for students of all ages and skill levels.
The Smithy Pioneer Gallery is the oldest building in Cooperstown, built in 1786 by the village founder, Judge William Cooper, as a blacksmith’s shop. Many original features of the shop can still be seen on the first floor, such as the forges, bellows, anvils and various tools of the trade. The second and third floors of The Smithy served several purposes over the years as a carriage repair workshop, masonic hall, and eventually as art galleries. Today, The Smithy houses three floors of seasonal exhibition space showcasing a variety of work by talented local and regional fine artists and craftsmen. The Smithy Clay Studio, located behind the original building, is a year-round workspace and offers many affordable pottery classes & workshops for people of all ages and skill levels.
Nice To Meet You!
Clay Studio Manager